La Sera - Break My Heart

Sic Alps - Glyphs

This is Pop Download-o-rama

Monday, May 5, 2008

First Johnny, Then Neil, Now Glen

(FROM NO DEPRESSION.NET) -- Glen Campbell returns to Capitol, the label which nurtured his solo career, with an album of new material called Meet Glen Campbell and scheduled for release August 10. He is set to premiere the songs at the Stagecoach Festival May 2.

Songs include Travis' "Sing", Tom Petty's "Angel Dream" and "Walls", the Replacements' "Sadly Beautiful", U2's "All I Want Is You", the Velvet Underground's "Jesus" and Green Day's "Good Riddance (Time Of Your Life)." But no Jimmy Webb songs. The press release says he selected these songs. In fact, from the press release:

"I really like all of the songs and I had a great time recording them. While I didn't write these songs, this sounds like a Glen Campbell album, which is important to me," says Glen Campbell.

The album was produced in LA by Julian Raymond (Rosanne Cash, Fastball, Wallflowers) with engineer and co-producer Howard Willing. Artists appearing on the album include Cheap Trick's Robin Zander, Roger Joseph Manning Jr. and Jason Faulkner (both from Jellyfish), and Chris Chaney (Jane's Addiction). Campbell's sons and daughters recorded backing tracks.

Here's the full track listing, with the caveat that it's not the final sequence:

1. Jesus (Velvet Underground)
2. All I Want Is You (U2)
3. Times Like These (Foo Fighters)
4. Grow Old With Me (John Lennon)
5. Angel Dream (Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers)
6. Sadly Beautiful (The Replacements)
7. Sing (Travis)
8. These Days (Jackson Browne)
9. Walls (Circus) (Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers)
10. Good Riddance (Time Of Your Life) (Green Day)

1 comment:

Barbara Bruederlin said...

The VU or Green Day sounding like a Glen Campbell record somehow does not quite compute, but then again, Paul Anka did an interesting job of Wonderwall, so ... you never know.