La Sera - Break My Heart

Sic Alps - Glyphs

This is Pop Download-o-rama

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

New Mountain Goats Record Due in March

John Darnielle is a prolific musician. Not Robert Pollard prolific but his announcement of a new Mountain Goats record due out in early 2011 keeps him in the upper echelon of recording productivity. (Don’t forget that exceptional Extra Lens record from earlier this year.) The new record is called All Eternals Deck, and will be released by Merge on March 29th.

The Mountain Goats website offers this interesting teaser as to what we can expect:

The album is called ALL ETERNALS DECK, and if you have ever watched say a 70s occult-scare movie where one of the scenes involves a couple of people visiting a storefront fortune teller, getting their cards read, and then trying to feel super-hopeful about what they hear when what they're visibly actually feeling is dread, then you have a pretty decent idea of what the album is all about.
Check out the intriguing tracklist below. (I’m looking at you Liza Forever Minnelli).

1. Damn These Vampires
2. Birth of Serpents
3. Estate Sale Sign
4. Age of Kings
5. The Autopsy Garland
6. Beautiful Gas Mask
7. High Hawk Season
8. Prowl Great Cain
9. Sourdoire Valley Song
10. Outer Scorpion Squadron
11. For Charles Bronson
12. Never Quite Free
13. Liza Forever Minnelli

Lastly from Some of us might get to see Mr. Darnielle in the new year!

The album's coming out on Merge in the U.S. on March 29th, 2011; Moorworks has got it for Japan, and our good friends at Remote Control in Australia are holding it down down under, and will release it on March 26th. I hope we get to tour all those places and more next year!
In the meantime, to celebrate the Mountain Goats 5000th follower on Twitter this week: An unreleased song from the prolific one – Tyler Lambert’s Grave

1 comment:

Barbara Bruederlin said...

The Mountain Goats could put out a new album every month and it would never be enough. Good news, this.