La Sera - Break My Heart

Sic Alps - Glyphs

This is Pop Download-o-rama

Thursday, November 24, 2011

Thank You For Sending Me This DVD

I was very fortunate to be around when the Talking Heads were in their heyday. I remember well their rapid succession of record releases that only got better as they progressed through a career most bands could only dream of.  Save for True Stories perhaps; (I’ve still never truly warmed to that one.)  That being said, the bands rich legacy of music and ground breaking videos still thrill when they pop up on my musical radar.  Good news then this holiday season as the band is set to release some rare video to thrill old and new fans alike.  The DVD, Chronology pulls together live performances from across Talking Heads' career. It starts with their earliest days at CBGB and The Kitchen in New York City in the mid-seventies, through their breakthrough years in the late seventies and on to global success in the eighties. They completed their last tour in 1983 although they would continue to make very successful albums throughout the eighties before officially breaking up in 1991. The DVD concludes with their "reunion" performance of "Life During Wartime" on their induction into the Rock `n' Roll Hall Of Fame in 2002.
From David Byrne:

This was very much a live band—at least until the late 80s. The initial recordings emerged out of what we played live, what worked in that context and how we refined our skills playing together. For a lot of musicians in the digital era this is not always the case. These days, the record often comes first and then how it is staged comes later.
A deluxe version of this is packaged in a hardback cover with a 48 page book containing photographs and an unexpurgated Lester Bangs essay written as a review of the Fear Of Music album for The Village Voice in 1979 but only ever published in a heavily edited version.

Track Listing

1) Mic Test (1976)
2) With Our Love (1975)
3) I'm Not In Love (1975)
4) Psycho Killer (1975)
5) Intros Montage (1976)
6) The Girls Want To Be With The Girls (1976)
7) Don't Worry About The Government (1978)
8) Dressing room fan footage: Found A Job (1978)
9) Thank You For Sending Me An Angel (1978)
10) Warning Sign (1978)
11) Artists Only (1979)
12) Take Me To The River (1979)
13) Crosseyed And Painless (1980)
14) Animals (1980)

15) Love Building On Fire (1982)
16) Cities (1982)
17) Burning Down The House (1983)
18) Life During Wartime (2002)
Bonus Features:
Full audio commentary by David Byrne, Jerry Harrison, Chris Frantz and Tina Weymouth.
35 minute South Bank Show feature (1979)
David Byrne interview (1978)


Allison said...

Sounds good, I'll have to keep my eye out for this one!

Barbara Bruederlin said...

I've never witnessed the band in its entirety, but judging by David Byrne's solo show, I would say that this DVD would be nothing short of awesome. I would perhaps even choose it over The Walking Dead for late night viewing.