La Sera - Break My Heart

Sic Alps - Glyphs

This is Pop Download-o-rama

Wednesday, April 4, 2012

David Byrne and Will Oldham Are the Pieces of Shit

Last year I posted a piece on a David Byrne and Will Oldham collaborative effort that saw the two teamed for the soundtrack to This Must Be the Place, a new film from the Italian director Paolo Sorrentino.  The film which stars Sean Penn as a retired goth pop star looks intriguing and the soundtrack equally so. FACT now reports that the Vinyl Factory will issue the soundtrack April 23rd, as a 2xLP heavyweight vinyl with gatefold packaging that includes images from the film.

Byrne and Oldham collaborated on five tracks as composer and writer, respectively, recording under the name the Pieces of Shit. Scatological references aside, the soundtrack also features stellar contributions from J√≥nsi and Alex, Iggy Pop, and others.This Must Be the Place takes its name from the much loved Talking Heads title (This Must Be the Place) Naive Melody. Several renditions of the song are included on the soundtrack, including an updated live version by Byrne. David Byrne also makes an appearance in the film; a fascinating (almost local) experience the musician documented at length in his journal.
This Must Be the Place Tracklisting:

Side A
1. Gavin Friday 'Lord I'm Coming'
2. The Pieces Of Shit 'Lay & Love'
3. The Pieces Of Shit 'Open Up'
4. Mantonvanni & His Orchestra 'Charmaine'

Side B
1. Daniel Hope, Simon Mulligan 'Arvo Part: Spiegel Im Spiegel'
2. Trevor Green 'This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)'
3. David Byrne 'This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody) Live'

Side C
1. Julia Kent 'Gardemoen'
2. Jonsi & Alex 'Happiness'
3. The Pieces Of Shit 'Eliza'
4. Iggy Pop 'The Passenger'
5. The Pieces Of Shit 'You Can Live It'

Side D
1. Brooklyn Rider 'Achille's Heel - Il Second Bounce'
2. The Pieces Of Shit 'If It Falls, It Falls'
3. Gloria 'This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)'
4. Nuno Bruno E Le 8 Tracce 'Every Single Moment In My Life Is A Weary Wait'
5. The Pieces Of Shit 'The Sword Is Yours'

Available to pre-order now, exclusively from The VinylFactory. Released 23rd April 2012.  Now have a look at the trailer for the movie.