La Sera - Break My Heart

Sic Alps - Glyphs

This is Pop Download-o-rama

Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Jesus Loves the Mountain Goats

John Darnielle (the Mountain Goats) writes music that is positively divine. His recorded output is guaranteed to thrill, to compel, and for me - even to educate. (I really knew so little about Reggae superstar Dennis Brown until he enlightened me on The Sunset Tree.)

So news that the new Mountain Goats album The Life of the World to Come is coming out October 6th via 4AD created a little old-fashioned excitement for this blogger today. According to an internet posting from head Goat John Darnielle the album was recorded earlier this year. Once again, the record finds Darnielle working with familiar friends Jon Wurster on drums and Peter Hughes on bass. As well, the recording will feature string arrangements from talented Canuckian Owen Pallett (Final Fantasy).

Curiously all of the songs are named after Bible verses. Download or listen to the new track "Genesis 3:23" here.

Darnielle explained the record's sacred themes briefly:

It's twelve new songs: twelve hard lessons the Bible taught me, kind of. More than that I'd want to wait to say until some people have heard it, which won't be long. Will there be more news soon, quite soon? Like, next week, even? Oh yes there will!"

Until then, here's the full tracklist:

The Life of the World to Come

01 1 Samuel 15:23
02 Psalms 40:2
03 Genesis 3:23 (Download here)
04 Philippians 3:20-21
05 Hebrews 11:40
06 Genesis 30:3
07 Romans 10:9
08 1 John 4:16
09 Matthew 25:21
10 Deuteronomy 2:10
11 Isaiah 45:23
12 Ezekiel 7 and the Permanent Efficacy of Grace


1 comment:

Barbara Bruederlin said...

I like the Mountain Goats and happily that is a fine song, but hey, you add Owen Pallet into the mix and the dry cleaning list would sound spectacular. In fact, hasn't Final Fantasy in fact recorded his dry cleaning list at one time? Or maybe that was his library books to return.