La Sera - Break My Heart

Sic Alps - Glyphs

This is Pop Download-o-rama

Tuesday, September 22, 2009

F*ck Is the New Black

2009 Polaris Prize Winner Announced

I would be remiss if I did not post the name of the 2009 Polaris Prize winner. Oh wait a second I can’t because I might just violate my sacred Blogger Terms of Use Agreement. So asterisk at the ready. Drum roll please… The winner of the $20,000 Polaris Prize Award for the Canadian album of the year is... F*cked Up. The award recognizes the Toronto group’s record The Chemistry of Common Life released in October 2008 on Matador Records.

The six-piece hardcore band made up of Damian Abraham, Mike Haliechuk, Sandy Miranda, Josh Zucker, Jonah Falco and Ben Cook have been recording since 2001 and in addition to the Chemistry of Common Life have released the recordings Epics in Minutes, Year of the Pig and Looking for Gold.

The $20,000 award was handed out early this morning in Toronto at a gala ceremony hosted by CBC Radio 3’s Grant Lawrence and Sarah Taylor from MuchMusic. For the first time in its history, all ten nominees performed at the soiree, which will be broadcast on television next Saturday evening on MuchMusic.

The prize is awarded by a jury of music journalists from across the country and is based strictly on merit, not sales. Last year's Polaris Prize winner was Hamilton-based performer Caribou.

Okay everyone… Hands up if you saw that one coming.

Polaris Prize 2009 List of Nominees

Elliott Brood - Mountain Meadows
F*cked Up - Chemistry of Common Life
Great Lake Swimmers - Lost Channels
Hey Rosetta! - Into Your Lungs
K'naan - Troubador
Malajube - Labrinths
Metric - Fantasies
Joel Plaskett - Three
Chad Vangaalen - Soft Airplane
Patrick Watson - Wooden Arms


Barbara Bruederlin said...

Not only did I not predict this, I believe I publicly called this band the least likely to win. My visionary status is under serious threat.

Have you noticed that all the Fuck-named bands have cats on the album cover? It's a feline conspiracy.

The Mad Hatter said...

So riddle me this...

I can't help but wonder if the journalists and broadcasters who vote for Polaris are trying to prove their mettle by voting for the band on the ballot that carry a caché of music elitism.

Essentially, I think they automatically disqualify any moderately well-known band.

I mean, what does a group like Metric have to do to win this thing? Ditto New Pornographers, Arcade Fire, or Stars??

Then again if the fact that these sorts of acts aren't impressive enough, or are too mainstream, it makes things a tad amusing:

They're too mainstream to win Polaris, but not mainstream enough to win Junos.

I I way off?