La Sera - Break My Heart

Sic Alps - Glyphs

This is Pop Download-o-rama

Monday, April 11, 2011

The Same Band You've Always Known

A month ago the White Stripes announced that they would cease to be but promised audio treasures from their recording vaults would be made available soon. News today then that the White Stripes' final gig recording is set to be released as a live album. Jack and Meg White's last show together took place on July 31, 2007 in Southaven, Mississippi. The album will come out on vinyl and has been given the ubiquitous title 'Live in Mississippi'.

(See below for the full track listing.)

The defunct band is also set to release a new DVD, 'Under Moorhead Lights All Fargo Night'. This release was recorded at Ralph’s Corner Bar in Moorhead, Minnesota on June 13, 2000.

Also, one of the White Stripes' first ever recordings, a cover of Love's 'Signed DC', will also be released on seven-inch vinyl. It also features a B-side: a cover of Otis Redding's 'I’ve Been Loving You Too Long'.

These releases are the first of those promised in the statement the band put out when they announced their split in February. They will only be available via Jack White's subscriberVault fan community scheme.

See Thirdmanrecords for additional details.

The track list of Live In Mississippi is:

01. Stop Breaking Down (Robert Johnson Cover)
02. Let's Build a Home
03. When I Hear My Name
04. Icky Thump
05. Dead Leaves And The Dirty Ground/ As Ugly As I Seem
06. The Same Boy You've Always Known
07. Wasting My Time
08. Phonograph Blues (Robert Johnson Cover)
09. Cannon/ John The Revelator
10. Death Letter (Son House)
11. Astro
12. Apple Blossom
13. You Don't Know What Love Is (You Just Do As You're Told)
14. In the Cold, Cold Night
15. I Want to Be the Boy to Warm Your Mother's Heart
16. Hotel Yorba
17. A Martyr For My Love For You
18. Ball And Biscuit
19. 300 MPH Torrential Outpour Blues
20. Blue Orchid
21. I'm Slowly Turning Into You
22. Boll Weevil

Under Moorhead Lights All Fargo Night track listing:

01. Let's Shake Hands
02. Screwdriver
03. Wasting My Time
04. Jolene (Dolly Parton cover)
05. Little Bird
06. Apple Blossom
07. You're Pretty Good Looking (for a Girl)
08. Your Southern Can is Mine (Blind Willie McTell cover)
09. Sugar Never Tasted So Good
10. Truth Doesn't Make a Noise
11. I'm Bored (Iggy Pop cover)
12. Cannon/John the Revelator" (traditional cover)

No comments: