La Sera - Break My Heart

Sic Alps - Glyphs

This is Pop Download-o-rama

Tuesday, August 23, 2011

Tom Waits for Everyone

Those low rumblings you felt earlier may in fact have been internet ruminations the world over that new Tom Waits music would be imminent.  Good news too considering it’s been far too long since we were treated to “new Tom”.

Anti Records and Tom himself confirmed today the October 25th release of  Bad As Me today.  It is Waits’ first studio album of all new music in seven years.  According to the press release:

“Waits, in possibly the finest voice of his career, worked with a veteran team of gifted musicians and longtime co-writer/producer Kathleen Brennan” on this one.  “Like a good boxer, these songs are lean and mean, with strong hooks and tight running times. A pervasive sense of players delighting in each other’s musical company brings a feeling of loose joy even to the album’s saddest songs.”
Bad As Me will be available October 25th.  A deluxe version of the new record will include a 40-page book of lyrics and photos taken by Waits himself, along with three bonus tracks. The album, which features the cover above, will also be available on 180-gram vinyl, which will include the LP and CD, plus a full-size 12-page book.

Bad As Me Tracklisting

01. Chicago
02. Raised Right Men
03. Talking At The Same Time
04. Get Lost
05. Face To The Highway
06. Pay Me
07. Back In The Crowd
08. Bad As Me
09. Kiss Me
10. Satisfied
11. Last Leaf
12. Hell Broke Luce
13. New Year's Eve
14. She Stole the Blush *
15. Tell Me *
16. After You Die *

* Bonus tracks
Check out the Tom Waits Listening Party too.

1 comment:

Dale said...

I was late to the Tom Waits appreciation but this is great news, I love his stuff. I wish he'd go on tour or at least just show up here for a show!